Sailing

Sailing Away

This is my first ever WordPress post so here I am to welcome myself.
Welcome to WordPress! I hope you enjoy the change you’ve been looking for!
Thank you, thank you..

I’ve been blogging for quite a while now. I could say that some of my posts are really inspiring and helpful but I admit that some of them are not even worth reading. I actually started putting up blog posts on Friendster — those were my jejemon days. Then, because there’s too much public eye inside a social networking site, I transferred them to Blogger back in 2005. It basically has everything on it, like a facebook, where I update, vent out and even share things I’ve found on the internet. It ran for how long I can’t remember and then I had to go to college so I got busy and posted less over time. Then there was facebook which was a total hit for me, but like Friendster it has too much people it it. But then, I met Tumblr. I had loads of fun in there and I actually like posting there. Until of course my friends also learned about it and my mother started reading it — so I had to run two blogs. One for myself where I can totally speak my mind, and the other, for the curious ones. It was swell for me, I had the best of both worlds. Until one day, I realized that I wasn’t enjoying it like the way I enjoyed it before. Back in those days when I didn’t have readers and my blog posts don’t see sunlight, I had loved writing. Now, much like everything else in the internet, I was pressured to attract attention of my readers and impress my followers. I started opening up my blog for advertisers and I started to sell space for them. I would’t lie to you, there’s nothing wrong or unpleasant with it. It was amazing how much I can get paid doing just that — writing. It was like getting a cent for breathing and my blog posts paid for some of my stuff, including my own domain. It was an awesome life. But like always, things starts blowing it’s horn, indicating departure. I never thought I could get fed up with it, but change just blows your house down into bits, until you find that you have nothing in there anymore to keep or even lose.
And so I had to go and start a new place to write on. And this represents a lot about my life. Much like a painter starting on a new canvas or a songwriter getting a blank piece of music sheet. I feel that I needed something new and start somewhere else. Do you get these feelings? Do I make sense?

I don’t want to be forced to write or write good. I don’t want to feel that I have to work for a like or a share or money. I like to write because I have something to say and not because I must say something. And I feel like our society is turning into a big popularity contest and it’s unhealthy. It’s not fair to have a politician just because he’s popular as much as it’s not fair to judge which people are better based on likes.

I am grateful that I made this decision and I am actually starting to feel the energy boost it gives me. I feel that I have to live up to the name of my blog, And that pressure to win a contest between you and yourself is always healthy. The challenge to be a better person with a better life is always a good thing and because of that, I’d be starting today. In three days I’d be having my birthday and 7 month anniversary with my boyfriend, and so I have this plan to get out of town with him. I’ll be gathering up my courage to ask permission from my mother in hope that I could enjoy a couple of days somewhere nice. I highly doubt she’d let me, but who knows. Good luck to me, I guess.

Well, there goes my first post!
Here’s to everlasting happiness, here’s to change.
Cheers.

I love reading your comments!

